Highlights Castle Lager Springbok Showdown



Springboks’ 2023 fixture list locked in

The Springboks will kick off a bumper 2023 season against Australia in Pretoria in July in the opening round of the shortened Castle Lager Rugby Championship and will face Argentina in Johannesburg in their final match on home soil before the build-up to their Rugby World Cup defence starts.


SA Rugby Award caps off special year for Etzebeth

Eben Etzebeth walked around with a broad smile at SA Rugby headquarters on Tuesday after he capped off a significant year on and off the field by being crowned the SA Rugby Player of the Year, among a host of winners in various categories in South African rugby.


Four Boks nominated for EPCR Player of the Year award

Four Springboks, Eben Etzebeth, Jaden Hendrikse, Siya Kolisi and Makazole Mapimpi were named among 15 nominees for the EPCR Player of the Year following their sterling performances in the Heineken Champions Cup this season.


Etzebeth named SA Rugby Player of the Year for '22

Springbok centurion Eben Etzebeth has been voted SA Rugby’s Player of the Year for 2022 following a string of excellent performances by the experienced lock last year, while Canan Moodie won the Young Player of the Year award and Nadine Roos was named Springbok Women’s Player of the Year.


Boks lead SA Rugby Awards nominations for 2022

Three experienced Springboks – Lukhanyo Am, Eben Etzebeth and Siya Kolisi – were nominated for the coveted SA Rugby Player of the Year Award for 2022 for a second year running and will be up against Kurt-Lee Arendse and Frans Malherbe after the quintet of Boks earned the most votes in the nomination process.