Moerat is joined in the second row by fellow Bok lock Marvin Orie, while flyhalf Manie Libbok and replacement loose forward Deon Fourie also make their return from duty with the national side.

In the backline Tristan Leyds makes his first appearance of the season on the wing, along with outside centre Ruhan Nel, who returns from an injury picked up in pre-season.

Herschel Jantjies starts at scrumhalf to round out an exciting backline, with utility back Mnombo Zwelendaba set to make his DHL Stormers debut from the replacements bench.

Flankers Willie Engelbrecht and Nama Xaba also come into the starting line-up, as well as loosehead prop Kwenzo Blose.

DHL Stormers Head Coach John Dobson said they are looking forward to what should be a special occasion.

“We know that the people of Gqeberha have plenty of passion for our team, so we can’t wait to get out there and experience the atmosphere at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium," said Dobson.

“There have been a number of changes and we are excited to see how the players coming in make an impact on Saturday.” 

DHL Stormers: 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Tristan Leyds, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Dan du Plessis, 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Manie Libbok, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Hacjivah Dayimani, 7 Willie Engelbrecht, 6 Nama Xaba, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Salmaan Moerat (captain), 3 Neethling Fouche, 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Kwenzo Blose. Replacements: 16 JJ Kotze, 17 Brok Harris, 18 Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, 19 Connor Evans, 20 Deon Fourie, 21 Paul de Wet, 22 Kade Wolhuter, 23 Mnombo Zwelendaba.