South Africa's oldest and premier provincial competition takes place from July to September in 2019, with defending champions, the Durban-based Cell C Sharks, coming up against DHL Western Province (from Cape Town), the Vodacom Blue Bulls (Pretoria), Xerox Golden Lions (Johannesburg), Toyota Free State Cheetahs (Bloemfontein), Phakisa Pumas (Nelspruit) and Tafel Lager Griquas (Kimberley).

The history

The Currie Cup - in recent years sponsored by DirectAxis Financial Services - is one of the oldest rugby competitions in the world, with the first games played in 1889, but it was only in 1892 that it became officially known as the Currie Cup. The original participating unions were Western Province, Griqualand West, Transvaal and Eastern Province. The first tournament was held in Kimberley and was won by Western Province.

The Currie Cup trophy was donated to South Africa in 1891 by the touring British Isles team - it was given to the tourists by Sir Donald Currie, owner of Union-Castle Lines, the shipping company that transported them to the southern tip of Africa.

Sir Donald was clear with his instructions – hand this trophy over to the team in South Africa that gives you the best game. After a spirited display where the unbeaten British Lions narrowly won 3-0, Griqualand West became the first ever holders of the Currie Cup. They then handed the trophy over to the South African rugby board and it became the floating trophy for the Currie Cup competition.


Xerox Golden Lions

31 Aug | Emirates Airline Park


Tafel Lager Griquas

Toyota Free State Cheetahs

31 Aug | Toyota Stadium


Cell C Sharks


24 Aug |Tafel Lager Park

Tafel Lager Griquas

26 - 27

Xerox Golden Lions

24 Aug |Toyota Stadium

Toyota Free State Cheetahs

38 - 33

DHL Western Province

24 Aug |Loftus Versfeld Stadium

Vodacom Blue Bulls

40 - 48

Cell C Sharks