image

The BokSmart National Rugby Safety Programme - a joint rugby safety initiative between SA Rugby and the Chris Burger/Petro Jackson Players' Fund - kicked off in South Africa in 2009. On this page you will find links and information to a massive depository of information, research, videos and more. To find out more about BokSmart, click here.

Social Media: YouTube | Facebook | Twitter

Click on the link below to access the specific section: 

1. Medical Protocols

- Code of Conduct

- Concussion

- Blue Card

- Eating and Drinking Right

- Effective Play and Controlling the Game

- Management of Rugby Injuries

- Physical Preparation and Recovery Techniques

- Pre-season Testing and the Physical Profiling of Players

- Protective Equipment

- Safety in the Playing Environment

- Pre-participation Screening of Players

- Serious Injury Protocol

- Strength and Conditioning for Effective Rugby

2. Research

3. Safe Six

4. Vision Zero

5. Coaches and Referees

6. Legislation

7. Marketing and Communication

8. BokSmart Player Cap

9. BokSmart Spineline

 

Contact Us

For any BokSmart Certification Card Queries please contact either of the following people:

Allie Abrahams | 021-9287110 | AllieA@sarugby.co.za

- Zeenat Abdullah021-9287111 | zeenata@sarugby.co.za

- Portia Mtwana | 021-9287045 | portiam@sarugby.co.za

 

BokSmart Contact Details

Email: boksmart@sarugby.co.za 
Telephone Number: +27 (0) 21 928 7000 
Fax: +27 (0) 21 928 7181

 

Postal Address:

SA Rugby Union
PO Box 159299
Panorama
7506

 

Union Representatives

UNION

REPRESENTATIVE

MOBILE

OFFICE

FAX

EMAIL

Boland

Cliffie Booysen

0829950117

021 8732317

021 8734823

cliffie@bolandrugby.co.za

Border

David Dobela

0767715781

-

-

d.dobela1@yahoo.com

Blue Bulls

Hennie Janse van Vuuren

0792216370

0124200709

086 6738027

henniev@bluebull.co.za

SWD Eagles

Martin de Vos

0734442551

044 8730137

044 8730405

martin@swdeagles.co.za

EP Kings

Neville Jonas

0739602470

041 4088922

086 7432977

neville.jonas77@gmail.com

Free State

Selvyn Colby

0845834487

051 4071749

051 4071791

scolby@fsrugby.co.za

Griquas

Kat Swanepoel

0828223770

053 8328773

086 620 9282

Refs@gwrugby.co.za

Griffons

Steps (Stefan) Pretorius

0728310998

057 3526482

086 6862018

steps@griffonsnfs.co.za

Leopards

Henry Stewart

084 587 6369

018 297 5304

018 297 1657

stewart@leopardsrugby.co.za

Lions

Timmy Goodwin

0828508707

011 4022960

086 6862018

timmy@glru.co.za

Pumas

Oubaas Coetzer

0827699624

013 612 0534

086 6677691

oubaas@pumas.co.za

Sharks

Archie Sehlako

084 4317562

031 3088426

031 3129197

archie@thesharks.co.za

Valke

Alfred Ross

0824573278

016 9762112

016 9762034

aross@icon.co.za

WP

Ben Theron

0832693590

021 6594502

021 9592336

BTheron@wprugby.co.za

 

LEGAL DISCLAIMER

The user hereby indemnifies the BokSmart National Rugby Safety Programme, and by association, the South African Rugby Union and the Chris Burger/Petro Jackson Players’ Fund, against any claim of whatsoever nature and howsoever arising in respect of all actions, costs, claims and demands arising as a result of any act or omission of the BokSmart programme during the normal course of activities undertaken by BokSmart, the South African Rugby Union and/or the Chris Burger/Petro Jackson Players’ Fund. This indemnity includes, without limitation, any claim due to the death or injury sustained by any person voluntarily using the BokSmart content, participating on any of the affiliated programmes to BokSmart, participating in the main BokSmart programme, or any person(s) who have access to and utilise the BokSmart programme content Via any of the available forms of distribution e.g. internet or website access, courses, television, other forms of media and the like.