The tournament kicks off on 29 June in Cape Town at DHL Stadium and Athlone Stadium, with the next two pool match days scheduled for 4 and 9 July. The playoffs – including the semi-finals for the top four sides – will be played on 14 July, with the final and placing matches on 19 July.

The venues for the matches will be the Danie Craven Stadium in Stellenbosch, as well as Athlone Stadium and the DHL Stadium in Cape Town, and tickets – priced at R35 (for children 18 years old and younger), and R75 for adults – will be on sale from Ticketmaster from Friday, 31 May. Tickets are for an entire match day and include three encounters at every venue.

The Junior Boks are in Pool C with England, Argentina and Fiji; Pool A consists of France, Wales, New Zealand and Spain; and Ireland, runners up in 2023, Australia, Georgia and Italy are in Pool B.

SA Rugby CEO Rian Oberholzer said: “Last year’s tournament was an unforgettable experience and we’re expecting more of the same this year. With the recent U20 Rugby Championship, we saw how closely matched the four SANZAAR teams were, and it was the same in the U20 Six Nations, where England emerged victorious.

“To host the next generation of superstars next month is a great privilege and we can’t wait to welcome their families, friends and fans to South Africa.

“The World Rugby U20 Championship plays an important role in the global rugby picture and is key in promoting and growing the game, while we are also excited to unearth the next generation of Springboks.”

The World Rugby U20 Championship 2024 will be the first international competition to feature the three new law amendments implemented to promote ball in flow and diversity of attacking options, while supporting player welfare.

These are that players will no longer be put onside when an opponent catches the ball from a kick in open play and runs five metres, players must make an attempt to retreat; scrums will no longer be an option from free kicks; and the banning of the crocodile roll.

A package of six law trials will also operate, including the simplified red card sanction process, approved by the World Rugby Executive Board.

World Rugby U20 Championship fixtures:

Saturday, 29 June

DHL Stadium:
14h00: France v Spain
16h30: Ireland v Italy
19h00: South Africa v Fiji

Athlone Stadium:
14h00: England v Argentina
16h30: Australia v Georgia
19h00: Wales v New Zealand

Thursday, 4 July

Danie Craven Stadium:
14h00: Ireland v Georgia
16h30: France v New Zealand
19h00: South Africa v Argentina

Athlone Stadium:
14h00: Wales v Spain
16h30: England v Fiji
19h00: Australia v Italy

Tuesday, 9 July:

Athlone Stadium:
14h00: Ireland v Australia
16h30: France v Wales
19h00: South Africa v England

Danie Craven Stadium:
14h00: Argentina v Fiji
16h30: Georgia v Italy
19h00: New Zealand v Spain

Sunday, 14 July:

Danie Craven Stadium:
14h00: 10th seed v 11th seed (match 19)
16h30: 9th seed v 12th seed (match 20)
19h00: 6th seed v 7th seed (match 21)

DHL Stadium:
14h00: 5th seed v 8th seed (match 22) *
16h30: 2nd seed v 3rd seed (semi-final – match 23)
19h00: 1st seed v 4th seed (semi-final – match 24)

Friday, 19 July:

Athlone Stadium:
12h00: Loser Match 19 v Loser Match 20
14h30: Winner Match 19 v Winner Match 20
17h00: Loser Match 21 v Loser Match 22

DHL Stadium:
14h00: Winner Match 21 v Winner Match 22 *
16h30: Loser Match 23 v Loser Match 24 (bronze medal match)
19h00: Winner Match 23 v Winner Match 24 (final)

Note: On both playoff days, the Junior Boks will play the first match at DHL Stadium no matter what position they are playing for, unless involved in the semi-finals or the medal matches, in which case they will play in the corresponding fixture.

World Rugby U20 Championship match official panel:

Referees: Takehito Namekawa (Japan), Saba Abulashvili (Georgia), Federico Vedovelli (Italy), Reuben Keane (Australia), Jérémy Rozier (France), Morné Ferreira (South Africa), Adam Jones (Wales), Sam Grove-White (Scotland), Aimee Barrett-Theron (South Africa).

Television Match Officials: Matteo Liperini (Italy), Mark Patton (Ireland), Mike Adamson (Scotland), Damon Murphy (Australia)*, Tual Trainini (France)*, Ian Tempest (England)*, Ben Whitehouse (Wales)*, Andrew McMenemy (Scotland)*, Andrew Jackson (England)*, Quinton Immelman (South Africa)*.

* Will attend part of tournament