George North, starting again at centre alongside Nick Tompkins, will equal Stephen Jones’ record as the most-capped Welsh men’s international back of all time with 104 Tests when he takes the field on Saturday.

Only Alun Wyn Jones (151) – named as a replacement for the second Test this weekend – and defence coach Gethin Jenkins (129) have more Wales caps.

Sam Wainwright could be in line to make his senior international debut from the bench. Wyn Jones and Josh Adams are the other changes among Wales’ replacements for the second of three Tests against the Springboks.

Pivac said: “Alex Cuthbert has been training really well. He’s six foot four, good in the air and runs all day. I think there will be plenty of aerial battles.

“Sam Wainwright has been very excited to join us. From day one he’s been training really well. I know he’s over the moon at his selection in the match day 23 and his family are over here so he’s looking forward to a big day.

“It was a great atmosphere last week and we’re expecting more of the same from the crowd in Bloemfontein this Saturday.”

On the changes Springbok head coach Jacques Nienaber announced earlier this week, Pivac added: “It hasn’t changed our preparation at all. It’s going to be 15 rugby players in green shirts. We’re expecting more of the same. They are a very experienced team no matter what combinations they put out. This side is one to be respected and not taken lightly.”

Wales team:
15. Liam Williams (Cardiff Rugby – 79 caps)
14. Louis Rees-Zammit (Gloucester Rugby – 17 caps)
13. George North (Ospreys – 103 caps)
12. Nick Tompkins (Saracens – 21 caps)
11. Alex Cuthbert (Ospreys – 51 caps)
10. Dan Biggar (captain, Northampton Saints – 101 caps)
9. Kieran Hardy (Scarlets – 12 caps)
8. Taulupe Faletau (Cardiff Rugby – 90 caps)
7. Tommy Reffell (Leicester Tigers – 1 cap)
6. Dan Lydiate (Ospreys – 66 caps)
5. Adam Beard (Ospreys – 35 caps)
4. Will Rowlands (Dragons – 19 caps)
3. Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Rugby – 39 caps)
2. Ryan Elias (Scarlets – 28 caps)
1. Gareth Thomas (Ospreys – 11 caps)

16. Dewi Lake (Ospreys – 6 caps)
17. Wyn Jones (Scarlets – 43 caps)
18. Sam Wainwright (Saracens – uncapped)
19. Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys – 151 caps)
20. Josh Navidi (Cardiff Rugby – 31 caps)
21. Tomos Williams (Cardiff Rugby – 34 caps)
22. Gareth Anscombe (Ospreys – 31 caps)
23. Josh Adams (Cardiff Rugby – 40 caps)