The match will be the first for both teams in The 2021 Kick-off Pools.

The two Elephants will not be the only ones familiar with the Loftus changerooms though as EP head coach, Peter de Villiers, called on a number of familiar faces in his match day squad.

Riaan Arends (fullback) has played more than 50 provincial matches for the Valke, SWD and EP, while Inny Radebe (flyhalf) has Vodacom Super Rugby experience under the belt with the Cell C Sharks, and has been handed the captaincy.

Former SA Rugby Sevens Academy sweeper, Luvo Claassen, was named at scrumhalf, having played most of his rugby at flyhalf and fullback.

Amongst the forwards, much is expected of CJ Velleman, with the former Southern Kings flanker arriving in Pretoria with a proven reputation. He will be part of a formidable loose trio alongside Van Jaarsveld and Anele Lungisa. 

It will be the first competitive outing at this level for the EP side and a number of questions will be asked of the pack. This seems to be anticipated by De Villiers, who named six forwards on the bench, with only Josh Alderman and Keanu Vers covering the backs.

The match kicks off at 15h00, with Stuart Berry in charge.

Eastern Province: 15 Riaan Arends, 14 Josiah Twum Boafo, 13 Christopher Hollis, 12 Sherwin Slater, 11 Quetyn Oerson, 10 Inny Radebe (captain), 9 Luvo Claassen, 8 Luigi van Jaarsveld, 7 Anele Lungisa, 6 CJ Velleman, 5 Mncedi Dlwengo, 4 Athenkosi Khetani, 3 Lepumlo Nguca, 2 Robin Stevens, 1 Lyle Lombard. Replacements: 16 Sithembiso Befile, 17 Siya Nzuzo, 18 Emile Klassen, 19 Ronald Sheckle, 20 Arnold Kleyne, 21 Diego Williams, 22 Josh Aldermann, 23 Keanu Vers.