The Mpumalanga-based side welcome back Fouche (flyhalf), who was in great form in Vodacom Super Rugby Unlocked last year when knee and hip injuries cut short his season after just three matches.

The Lowvelders’ encounter in Joburg kicks off at 19h00 is the first in a series of local warm-up matches which will be televised live on SuperSport.

Jimmy Stonehouse (coach) has paired the returning Fouche with promising young scrumhalf Giovan Snyman, while the more experienced Ginter Smuts provides cover on the bench.

With Fouche preferred in the pivot role it means another outing at fullback for Devon Williams, whose attacking skills are perhaps better suited in the No 15 jersey.

At lock the coach has opted for the combination of skipper Pieter Jansen van Vuren and Brandon Valentyn, while Le Roux Roets is set to come off the bench.

Willie Engelbrecht will look to continue his fine form at No 8

Willie Engelbrecht will look to continue his fine form at No 8

Stonehouse explained that it was important to give Fouche and Roets, both back from injuries, enough quality playing time at this time of the new season.

“It is important that we give these guys some game time on this level,” said Stonehouse.

“We are also in the fortunate position to have Devon who can slot in equally at fullback and flyhalf, and his versatility give us a strong bench which include Tapiwa Mafura.”

He added that although there will be no trophy or prize on offer, his side will nevertheless grab the opportunity to give their troops some much needed playing minutes.

“For us it’s another good opportunity to give our players time together on the playing field. It gives another chance to display what we can do, and that is to play an attacking brand of rugby,” said Stonehouse.

New Nation Pumas: 15 Devon Williams, 14 Luther Obi, 13 Alwayno Visagie, 12 Wayne van der Bank, 11 Etienne Taljaard, 10 Eddie Fouche, 9 Giovan Snyman, 8 Willie Engelbrecht, 7 Ewart Potgieter, 6 Daniel Maartens, 5 Pieter Jansen van Vuren (captain), 4 Brandon Valentyn, 3 Ig Prinsloo, 2 Simon Westraadt, 1 Morgan Naude. Replacements: 16 AJ le Roux, 17 Liam Hendricks, 18 Dewald Maritz, 19 Le Roux Roets, 20 Kwanda Dimaza, 21 Ginter Smuts, 22 Ali Mgijima, 23 Tapiwa Mafura.