The season has been very different for the respective coaches, Hayden Groepes and Stanley Raubenheimer, but few could argue that the two best teams made it to the biggest day on the local calendar for women’s provincial rugby.

The Daisies were simple irresistible with 13 victories thus far and it will take a very special performance from Western Province to snap this record streak of wins in a season.

Groepes named an unchanged squad from the team that outplayed Boland Dames in last weekend's semi-final, only swopping Unathi Mali and Zintle Nonkasana’s roles, with Mali starting in the midfield and Nonkasana on the bench this weekend. This points to consistency and confidence in a squad that had no peers in the domestic competition.

Raubenheimer, knowing that their previous encounter at the same venue resulted in a 43-5 defeat (following on a 41-0 defeat in Cape Town in their season opener) has made a significant change at flyhalf, moving Chuma Qawe to the pivotal position.

Qawe plays most of her rugby at fullback and this move hints at a more direct approach from the visitors, who last won the title in 2019 before they were beaten in the 2021 and 2022 finals by the Border Ladies.

DHL WP's Chumisa Qawe in action against the Daisies earlier in the season.

DHL WP's Chumisa Qawe in action against the Daisies earlier in the season.

Most matches are won up front, but for pundits, the backline battles promise to be something to savour as both teams are laden with Springbok Women and Springbok Women's Sevens players.

The scales are heavily tilted towards the in-form Daisies, but anyone discarding the visiting team have not seen Sinazo Mcatshulwa play rugby before. The WP captain and lock will be leading from the front and if her team-mates follow, it will be a game played in the trenches rather than the outside channels.


Bulls Daisies: 15 Bryhandre Dolf, 14 Ayanda Malinga, 13 Unathi Mali, 12 Jakkie Cilliers, 11 Simamkele Namba, 10 Libbie Janse van Rensburg, 9 Rumandi Potgieter, 8 Lusanda Dumke (captain), 7 Rights Mkhari, 6 Lerato Makua, 5 Anathi Qolo, 4 Vainah Ubisi, 3 Yonela Ngxingolo, 2 Micke Gunter, 1 Asithandile Ntoyanto. Replacements: 16 Xolelwa Diliza, 17 Lebogang Ralebona, 18 Rachelle du Plessis, 19 Sinelitha Noxeke, 20 Kyla de Vries, 21 Unam Tose, 22 Zintle Nonkasana, 23 Maria Tshiremba.

DHL Western Province: 15 Donelle Snyders, 14 Veroeshka Grain, 13 Shaunique Hess, 12 Chumisa Qawe, 11 Alichia Arries, 10 Chuma Qawe, 9 Kimberley Karassellos, 8 Nokubonga Siko, 7 Aneliswe Mxabo, 6 Elitha Sylvester, 5 Sinazo Mcatshulwa (captain), 4 Thandile Mazwi, 3 Jordan Konnight, 2 Luchell Hanekom, 1 Anelisa Ndamase. Replacements: 16 Onwaba Mdzanga, 17 Vernique Afrika, 18 Nomkhitha Chuba, 19 Zandiswa Xozwa, 20 Ncediswa Mahijana, 21 Lihle Mzimkhulu, 22 Alicia Willemse, 23 Elme Kruger.

Match information – Bulls Daisies v DHL WP:
Venue: Loftus Versfeld B, Pretoria
Date: Saturday, 26 August 2023
Kick-off: 15h00
Referee: Sinesipho Foloti
Assistant referees: Angie Bezuidenhout, Bulela Qwane
TMO: Christie du Preez
TV: SuperSport Variety