Since 2005, when John Smit became the first recipient, 16 men’s fifteens players have been recognised by their peers as the best among the best. Yet, one cannot ignore the influence of sevens rugby in the careers of some former recipients (see full list below).

After consultation with the wider player community, it was decided to reduce the number of categories from the past five years, and to only name a Players’ Player of the Year in three categories from this year onwards, recognising the achievements of the Blitzboks and Springbok Women's players as well.

The MyPlayers Awards 2022 coincides with the end of the current South African rugby season, which includes the 2021/2022 entry into the Vodacom United Rugby Championship.

Among this year’s nominees for the Men’s Fifteens Players’ Player of the Year are 2018 recipient, Malcolm Marx, and Lukhanyo Am, who in 2020 and 2021 received the most votes in the now-retired category, Defender of the Year.


Men’s Fifteens Players’ Player of the Year
Lukhanyo Am
Eben Etzebeth
Malcolm Marx
Evan Roos
Damian Willemse

Men’s Sevens Players’ Player of the Year
Selvyn Davids
Zain Davids
JC Pretorius

Women’s Players’ Player of the Year
Ayanda Malinga
Aphiwe Ngwevu
Nadine Roos
Sizophila Solontsi

Previous recipients of the Players’ Player of the Year award: John Smit (2005), Kabamba Floors (2006), Willem de Waal (2007), Jean de Villiers (2008), Morné Steyn (2009), Gio Aplon (2010), Bismarck du Plessis (2011), JP Pietersen (2012), Willie le Roux (2013), Duane Vermeulen (2014), Jaco Kriel (2015), Jean-Luc du Preez (2016), Siya Kolisi (2017), Malcolm Marx (2018), Pieter-Steph du Toit (2019), Duane Vermeulen (2020), Cheslin Kolbe (2021).

Starting today, all members of the Players' Organisation will have a week to cast their votes for the Men's Fifteens Players' Player of the Year, while only the Blitzboks and Springbok Women (sevens and fifteens) will get to vote in their respective categories. The three recipients will be announced via press release and social media in the last week of September.