The match at Jonsson Kings Park is scheduled to start at 16h00 and will be broadcast live on the SuperSport Rugby and Grandstand channels.

Van Rooyen has made four changes to his starting team – three of them due to injuries to Tiaan Swanepoel (fullback), Stean Pienaar (wing) and Wilhelm van der Sluys (lock).

As a result, EW Viljoen and Reinhard Nothnagel are promoted from the bench to start at fullback and lock respectively, while Rabz Maxwane will fill the void at right wing. The fourth change is at tighthead prop, where Carlu Sadie will start in the place of the experienced Jannie du Plessis.

Dan Kriel retains the captaincy and the exciting loose trio of Francke Horn, Vincent Tshituka and MJ Pelser got the nod again after sterling performances last weekend.

Young flyhalf Jordan Hendrikse has been recalled from the SA Rugby Academy camp in Stellenbosch to provide cover on the bench, while the experienced Jaco Visagie (hooker) and Burger Odendaal (centre) return from injury and were named amongst the replacements.

There are two final changes to the bench, where Len Massyn comes in for the injured Sibusiso Sangweni, and former Junior Springbok prop Asenathi Ntlabakanye takes Sadie’s spot.

Emirates Lions: 15 EW Viloen, 14 Rabz Maxwane, 13 Wandisile Simelane, 12 Dan Kriel (captain), 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Fred Zeilinga, 9 Andre Warner, 8 Francke Horn, 7 Vincent Tshituka, 6 MJ Pelser, 5 Reinhard Nothnagel, 4 Ruben Schoeman, 3 Carlu Sadie, 2 PJ Botha, 1 Sti Sithole. Replacements: 16 Jaco Visagie, 17 Nathan McBeth, 18 Asenathi Ntlabakanye, 19 Len Massyn, 20 Emmanuel Tshituka, 21 Morne van den Berg, 22 Jordan Hendrikse, 23 Burger Odendaal.

Match information
Date: Saturday, 8 May 2021
Time: 16h00
Venue: Jonsson Kings Park, Durban
Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen
Assistant Referees: AJ Jacobs, Rasta Rasivhenge
Television Match Official: Egon Seconds
TV: SuperSport Rugby and Grandstand