The match at DHL Newlands kicks off at 16h30 and will be broadcast live on SuperSport.

The inclusion of Du Toit, in place of Michael Kumbirai at tighthead prop, is one of five personnel changes to the Cell C Sharks’ starting team from their last match, on Second New Year against Tafel Lager Griquas in Durban.

Dylan Richardson and Sanele Nohamba are promoted from the bench and will start at flanker and scrumhalf respectively, while the experienced backline duo of Marius Louw (centre) and Springbok wing Sbu Nkosi are also back in the run-on side.

Joining Kumbirai on the bench are Thembelani Bholi (loose forward), Jaden Hendrikse (scrumhalf) and Jeremy Ward (centre), while Manie Libbok (utility back), Hyron Andrews (lock) and Mzamo Majola (prop) are also back in the match-day squad.

Springbok midfielder Lukhanyo Am, who will lead the Durbanites in Cape Town, said the extra week’s rest has been good for his side, as it gave the players more preparation time for the semi-finals and an opportunity to sharpen up “on the issues that needed to be improved upon”.

Sanele Nohamba is back at scrumhalf for the Cell C Sharks

Sanele Nohamba is back at scrumhalf for the Cell C Sharks

“With the group we have that’s been together for a long time, missing a week isn’t something that we feel will bite us – it happens in-season anyway, and I still believe it came at the perfect time,” said Am.

“We know what Western Province’s strengths are in terms of set-piece dominance, they’ve proven it throughout the competition, so from our side, we’ve been working on us mainly, to try strengthen any parts we feel need working on.

“If we’re able to get our own set-piece going and challenge them on theirs, I think it will be a very exciting game to watch.”

Cell C Sharks – 15 Aphelele Fassi, 14 Sbu Nkosi, 13 Lukhanyo Am (captain), 12 Marius Louw, 11 Yaw Penxe, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Sanele Nohamba, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 Henco Venter, 6 Dylan Richardson 5 Ruben van Heerden, 4 JJ van der Mescht, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Fezokuhle Mbatha, 1 Ox Nche. Replacements: 16 Dan Jooste, 17 Mzamo Majola, 18 Michael Kumbirai, 19 Hyron Andrews, 20 Thembelani Bholi, 21 Jaden Hendrikse, 22 Jeremy Ward, 23 Manie Libbok.

DHL Western Province v Cell C Sharks
Date: Saturday, 23 January 2021
Time: 16h30
Venue: DHL Newlands, Cape Town
Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen
Assistant Referees: Cwengile Jadezweni and Aimee Barrett-Theron
TMO: Stuart Berry
TV: SuperSport Grandstand and Rugby