Springbok speedster Mapimpi, the Boks’ top try-scorer at the recent Rugby World Cup in Japan, walked away with three coveted awards at the annual Sharks Player of the Year Awards at Sun Park, Sun Sibaya on Tuesday evening.

The 29-year-old Mapimpi enjoyed a stellar season and he became the first Springbok player to score a try in a Rugby World Cup Final when the Springboks defeated England in the Japanese showpiece.

Mapimpi bagged the Fans’ Player of the Year, Players’ Player of the Year as well as the most prestigious award of the night, the Cell C Sharks Player of the Year for 2019.

He was also a nominee in the Durbanites’ Vodacom Super Rugby Player of the Year category, alongside fellow Springboks Andre Esterhuizen, Daniel du Preez and Lukhanyo Am, with Esterhuizen claiming this accolade.

Springbok flyhalf Pollard, who was the top points scorer at the RWC, was the big winner at the Blue Bulls Company awards ceremony held at the vibrant Altitude Roof Top Bar in Menlyn on Tuesday evening.

Pollard was named the the BBCo's Player of the Year, while his Vodacom Bulls team-mate and fellow RWC winner Duane Vermeulen claimed the Vodacom Super Rugby Player of the Year award.

Trevor Nyakane, also a member of the Springboks’ RWC winning squad, walked away with the Pretoria franchise’s Vodacom Super Rugby Forward of the Year award.

Other current or former Springbok winners at the Bulls’ function were: Lizo Gqoboka (Isuzu Award) and Cornal Hendricks (Puma Forever Faster Award).